top of page

Reading Scores


One of the frustrating things for me when watching youtube tutorials is the nagging sense that I could possibly give a few insightful tips on piano playing but just haven't made an effort to do so. Now I have. I didn't realise that creating videos could be so much collaborative fun and instructive. I can now assemble a basic video with three different camera angles and hopefully convey my thoughts in as dinstinct and understandable way possible. I prefer a spontaneous creative approach so the videos might seem pretty random but viewed as a whole they will cover every spectrum of piano playing that I have explored myself. One of the things that I will not do is shy away from actual playing. I think anyone who enters into a musical relationship with a teacher should enjoy and respect the playing ability of their teacher. There is that saying: those who can DO, those who can't TEACH. It is a little tongue in cheek but it does in some way poke a finger at teachers who rely to heavily on teaching methadologies that they have been taught but don't apply or teachers who haven't necessarily gone through the crisis of finding their own unique voice in the turmoil of having to abandon the methods they were taught as students. So I play on my videos and shpow the very flawed human side of making mistakes, producing musical gems, giving insights and hopefully communicating ideas and experiences that you the viewer can take away and use.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page